Writing Series

Writing Atlas: The Crafting Pillar pt-2

This might be another short one, and there might be a couple of posts like this just because I’m sort of writing about a subject that I’m in the middle of working on. So there might not be a ton of insight to drop in the articles this week and more stuff like “I don’t know what I’m doing and making it up as we go.”

So the crafting pillar originally started as guidelines for the player to make whatever the hell they wanted. You’d gather affinity (elemental) materials and pay for a raw material cost and the player and GM would discuss together the specifics of balancing and purpose. Does the device work only once? How much should it cost? Is it portable, throwable, consumable, or some kind of complicated kit that requires time to set up and someone to manually operate it? All of these fine details of the instrument created would be worked out between player and GM as a “blueprint” phase, along with the affinity material and raw material cost. The player would be tasked with finding the materials and spending the money for the raw materials and setting aside some time in game to build it.

There actually wasn’t much of a problem here. I like this system and it might still be in-game. The problem I have with it is that it feels really lazy. For me. As a creator. I’m not so much giving someone a game with this system as I am giving them the tools to flesh my game out for me. Which is not how I want to operate. So tomorrow we’re going to go over this and how to fix it.

Slow week, small posts, life is weird. Make it even weirder and give the Archfossil Patreon a read. Changes start in the new year and there’ll be more to love, read all about it there.

Leave a Reply

